I Left My Heart in…

Often walking around in the city I see the words “I love you” graffiti-ed on sidewalks and buses. I wonder what motivates people to write these words.  Maybe a shy girl wrote it anonymously in front of the house of the guy she has secretly liked for four years. Maybe an old man lost his wife and wrote it near the spot where they first met years ago.  Maybe  someone wanted every person who walked by these words to feel loved. It may actually be more of an endearment to the city to have hundreds of “I love you”s written all over its streets. I wonder if most cities have this phenomenon. Though it wouldn’t surprise me if this was unique to San Francisco, especially considering all of San Francisco’s love songs.

Leave a Reply

