Blogger Tag: Sharing Thoughts and Beautiful Blogs


I don’t often do other blogs besides photos and poems these days but a week ago I was nominated to participate in a blog chain by a blogger named Camila who writes fun and personal posts about her life on the blog Keeping Myself Busy.  I enjoy reading her posts about her photography ambitions and her experiences of places she’s been. As I read her posts I keep discovering more things I have in common with her as another young woman and as someone who’s lived in or experienced the same places as I have. I feel honored to have the opportunity to answer her questions and write a more personal post about my likes, dislikes and routines.

As a side note, when I first read her questions I was thinking that it sounded like she was excited about a trip that she was going to go on soon and soon enough I see in her next post that she went to Muir Woods! I knew it!

First things first:

The Rules for this Tag:

  • Tag the blogger that nominated you
  • Answer the questions you were given
  • Nominate 10 bloggers whose blog is about beauty/lifestyle/fashion
  • Mention 10 questions for your nominees to answer
  • Inform the bloggers you chose that you nominated them

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get started with the questions:

1. Do you have a beauty routine? If yes, what is it?

I don’t typically have a beauty routine. I sometimes think putting on my glasses as my form of makeup. Going to bed at a decent hour and having at least 8 hours of sleep makes a difference. Topping it off with at least 30 minutes of cardiovascular exercise and a nice hot shower makes me feel relaxed and awake and look vibrant and rejuvenated. I do spritz cocoa butter oil in my hair and comb it through to make it soft and not frizzy. Moroccan oil works too. I definitely use plenty of conditioner in the shower. Lately it’s been Pantene Provene. My hair is the most beauty routine thing I do besides my overall health.

2. What’s your go-to outfit for a day trip to your favorite getaway?

Something comfortable, layered, versatile. I actually need to go on some more getaways to know which getaway is my favorite and test out this answer. In general I like to wear harem pants or tights with either a skirt or a long shirt or a short dress and a hoodie. Something I could hike or dance in, fly in a hot air balloon in. If I’m going to the beach or walking in and out of water, closed toed spider grip waterproof shoes that are also easy to slip on and off are very convenient. I also like bright waterproof running shorts that could be good in the water or on land.

Bright colors are a must as well as light mini daypack backpacks. They make me feel prepared, capable, energize and free!

3. What inspires you?

This is a good question. I’d say emotions are the number one thing that inspires me. From there the rest comes from spontaneous thoughts and observations. I think having the intention to find inspiration can be one of the best ways to find inspiration. It keeps you present and mindful to possibilities.

4. What’s the best soundtrack for a road trip?

Hard question! My favorite album changes year to year and I have never really been on a road trip for more than 7 hours but I do know what it’s like when I do find that great road trip soundtrack. Those moments when the windows are open and the world is beautiful and bright and it’s moving to the beat of your free spirit. There is no place better to be!

But anyways I can’t remember what albums have inspired this feeling! I’m going to list day driving and night driving music with consideration of artists that may have potentially have inspired me during a mini road trip in the past:

Day Driving (rock, folk, 90’s, 70’s, acoustic)

  • Simon and Garfunkel
  • Rogue Wave
  • Radical Face
  • Elliott Smith
  • Family of the Year
  • City and Colour
  • Ra Ra Ra Riot
  • Beck
  • Phoenix
  • Jack Johnson
  • Nick Drake
  • The Shins
  • Iron and Wine
  • Jose Gonzalez
  • The Garden State soundtrack

Night Driving (electronic, dance, 80’s, chill wave)

  • U2
  • Tycho
  • St. Lucia
  • M83
  • New Division
  • Imogene Heap
  • Neon Indian
  • Foster the People
  • El Ten Eleven
  • Carousel
  • Macintosh Braun
  • Crystal Castles
  • Passion Pit
  • Explosions in the Sky
  • The Lost in Translation soundtrack

5. What’s the best outfit for a road trip?

Sweatpants! And really soft t-shirts! And of course bring a sweatshirt and blanket in case you want to get really cozy.

6. Do you have a “red pile” when doing laundry?

I don’t have a “red pile.” If I’m lucky and extra motivated maybe there’s an inside-out “black pile” so that the lint doesn’t get stuck on my black clothes. If I do that I may have a “white pile” and a “darks and grays pile.” Most of the time however I just mix them all together and take half of them to dry on the drying rack instead of the dryer.

7. When was the time you felt the most beautiful?

When I hula hoop or dance or run freely.

When I use my intuition to see possibilities unfolding.

When I wander by myself through misty forests, unknown neighborhoods, feeling the night air, the open road, hearing the ocean. I feel the most beautiful when I explore the world around me from the inside out.

I also feel pretty good about myself when I feel like a confident independent woman in San Francisco trying new and bold adventures like improv, going dancing or seeing a show late at night. Feeling young and diving into the night life.

8. Which do you like most: cats or dogs?

I like both but I would say I am more of a cat person because my first pet was a cat. I had a cat from when I was three to when I was twenty-one, so pretty much my whole childhood and conscious memory. I had a dog throughout my teenage and college years too but somehow having a childhood friend as a cat really influenced my favoritism. I got really close to him, even thought of him as a little brother sometimes. He was such a mellow, playful, affectionate cat. I still think of him every so often.

9. Who is your favorite person in the world?

I am really close to my mom. She has influenced me so much in terms of the development of my personality, interests, and philosophy on life. I look up to her as a role model in her pursuit of happiness and peace of mind. She’s very wise, lighthearted, fun-loving, practical, and youthful, qualities that not only make her great mom but a great friend.

10. How do you keep yourself busy?

I have a lot of goals, activities and dreams that are on my mind and I constantly make never ending to do lists of them. Honestly I don’t know how I stay busy exactly. I just know I do stuff. I often wonder where did the time go at the end of the day. This is why I have started a moment diary where I list down in an app everything I’ve done that day. I’ve been consistent with it since the beginning of the year. Because of that I feel I may have a little better understanding of what I do. Various activities go through phases but I want to list them all to see what’s on my mind. Most of these things have been pretty pervasive activities that I’ve done on and off throughout my life.

  • Learning Portuguese on Duolingo
  • Writing poems
  • Taking pictures
  • Making stop-motion videos
  • Learning to cook things
  • Doodling while listening to music
  • Attempting to draw from life
  • Talking to my boyfriend, friends, coworkers, housemates, mom
  • Skyping my dad
  • Reading books (fiction and nonfiction)
  • Glancing at the news
  • Doing the 7 minute workout, lifting weights and other muscle toning exercises
  • Going to Zumba
  • Going to improv class
  • Going to my American Sign Language class
  • Practicing ASL
  • Reading continuing education articles to keep my OTA license solid
  • Reading my OT magazines
  • Hula hooping
  • Running
  • Coloring in my fancy adult coloring book while listening to podcasts about psychology and improv
  • Chores
  • Shopping
  • Going to parks, restaurants, events, meetups
  • Going on social media, especially Instagram and Facebook
  • Check my email
  • Doing structured rest for 20 minutes
  • Blogging
  • Keeping a moment diary
  • Writing in my journal
  • Doing breathing exercises
  • Doing singing exercises
  • Playing games (card games, video games, improv games)
  • Once in a while play or learn songs for the guitar, ukulele, or the melodica
  • Sleeping in

Thank you for the questions, Camila! That was fun!

Here are my questions for the bloggers I nominate. Originally I think this was supposed to be a Beauty Blogger Tag and the questions were supposed to be beauty focused but these questions are what came to mind and they are open to interpretation:

  1. What color or set of colors are you feeling now and why?
  2. What did you think your life would look like now five years ago?
  3. When was the last time you felt courageous?
  4. What’s the greatest memory you have ever shared with a friend?
  5. What are three things you wish you had control of and why?
  6. Where do you get your energy from?
  7. When was the last time you felt purpose and meaning in your life?
  8. How do you get in “the zone?”
  9. How do you prioritize what’s important?
  10. What’s the favorite part of your day?

And finally, after looking at many blogs that I have encountered through the years, here are the lucky bloggers I have nominated as well as highly recommend following:

  1. Thoughts Awakening -A writing and poetry blog about emotions, relationships, simple pleasures of life and feelings and opinions about aspects of life that we can all relate to.
  2. Young & Twenty – An honest, open and down to earth blog about life as a young woman and the culture and society that surrounds her. She reflects on many relatable struggles and experiences and sheds light on the realities of a girl’s passage into adulthood in this day and age.
  3. Memorphilia – A dreamy and intimate poetry and photography blog about nature, nostalgia, and emotions. Enjoy the gorgeous serene photos that decorate the site.
  4. The Dream Shed: by Thomas French – A whimsical and sweet blog about children’s stories for children and children at heart. Feast here on quirky and imaginative characters and worlds to your delight!
  5. The Seeds 4 Life -An inspiring blog that provides readers with some food for thought by elaborating on messages that are contained in uplifting and mind-opening quotes and integrating them into modern life.
  6. The Enthusiastic Life – This is a personal, empowering, practical and fun-loving blog about the journey of an occupational therapist with rheumatoid arthritis. She shares her personal insights and observation about what what helps her, what challenges her, as well as some useful ideas about her career, being a mom, and managing her disability.
  7. Kalen Marquis – A personal and professional blog about a child psychologist sharing his counseling knowledge and imaginative stories as well as his kindhearted and humble thoughts about his own life.

These blogs all share a little piece of me and aspects of life I appreciate. They are really great blogs and I feel that doing this blog chain has helped me reconnect with them and the blogging community. I tend to hit and run when it comes to blogging because my attention is pulled and spread across many hobbies and activities and I take so long to finish and start things. However it is so fun and invigorating to connect with other bloggers and learn about people’s lives and how they interpret their personal experiences. I look forward to participating in the blogging community more regardless of my sporadic tendencies.

Thanks for reading! What are your routines like? When do you feel beautiful or energized or courageous? If the questions above sparked any reflections and thoughts about your life or quirks I’d love to see them! Please share it all below in the comment section. Until next time!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Camila Aimbire
    Feb 12, 2016 @ 01:31:55

    Ok… so it’s getting kind of wired how much we have in common. I kept reading your answers and thinking… “humm… I feel like that too!” I think we should meet sometime 😉 It would be fun to grab a cup of coffee/tea with you 🙂

    Reply

  2. elizabethdetroit
    Feb 12, 2016 @ 02:46:14

    very glad i took a moment to read this – it made me happy and proud

    Reply

  3. axcho
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 06:03:38

    I can see how your emotions and spontaneous observations inspire you – it is apparent in your poems. I think you have quite an eye for the aesthetic potential of these subjective nuances! 🙂

    When do you have the intention to find inspiration around you? Is it all the time? Are you always looking for photos to take, or poems or blog posts to write?

    I like how you’ve separated songs for night driving and day driving. I can see how the music you’ve chosen for the night is like painting with colored lights on a night sky, while the daytime music is like drawing with colored pencils, crayons, pastels on a white piece of paper. Additive colors and subtractive colors. Do you separate outfits for night and day too?

    I like your road trip outfit! I think that’s my favorite too. Sounds cozy… 😉

    I love how feeling beautiful to you is about an internal experience, something very subjective. It’s not about how you appear to others, from the outside. I think you are hitting on something very true, and poetic. I think I can relate – it’s feeling beautiful when fully experiencing the beauty of the world, and channeling that back through yourself again.

    It sounds like the boldness is important to you too, along with the feeling of wonder and discovery at something new. Is that about pushing past boundaries? What are the boundaries that you used to feel bold about pushing past, but now seem like old news? What is still exciting? What is still too far outside your comfort zone?

    I think I would like cats like that if I weren’t allergic to them. I wish I could have an experience like that. As long as I don’t turn into one of those people who shares internet cat videos all the time! 😉

    You’ve got a lot of activities to keep you busy! 🙂 I could write a list like that too, but I think I’ve kind of given up on trying to do things these days. I’m just trying to work and not fall too far behind on my chores and emails each week. :p It’s inspiring to see it all listed out like that though. Maybe I should do that for myself sometime. It would be interesting to put it in order of how much time you spend on each one, and another list of which you value most or consider most important. I wonder what that would look like.

    I *really* love the questions you chose for the bloggers you nominate. I hope some of them take the time to really think about those questions and post their own thoughtful answers, because those are the kind of questions that can lead to really interesting and insightful answers no matter who you’re asking. You could even do a project where you interview a different random person off the street and ask them those questions, and I think it would be fascinating to read a compilation of answers.

    In fact, I think I may go ahead and use them for journaling prompts, myself. I haven’t been journaling much at all lately, and I think your questions would be a great way for me to tap into that introspective mode. 🙂 Thank you for sharing them with us!

    I hope you make some great connections and have some great discussions in the blogging community! Good luck! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

