Poems

Lost Poems from High School: Flashlight

Looking out the closed window
Pointing a flashlight, trying to light up the darkening scenery
Attempting to brighten the wide horizons
But I can’t see, not yet.
Everything is passing, all the separate lives, places and people
I’ll never know and never forget.
I feel them walking along, own missions and trials in mind.
Looking forward, living with the past on their shoulders.
Smiling faces of strangers holding,
Tucking away the omnipresent moments,
The moments that they are distractedly smiling against.

I wonder about the things I don’t want to know about,
And look through windows to other windows,
Hoping to see what they see.
But I see someone lost in the distance, in the middle of it all.
All these things will be left unsaid.
This season is consuming me, I fall asleep,
With a loud, thundering train in the sky,
The rosy glow of an oncoming storm.
My flashlight shines back up to the sky, simple and small,
Like David’s sling shot against Goliath
I hide in my umbrella of shadows that the brightness creates.
One day, the shadows will fade, daylight will break
And the sun will meet my tiny light.
I’m going to run from this,
A chance that ignites my feet.

Leave a comment